Full Name:...
Edward (Ted) Joseph Cunningham
Legislative Assembly
Australian Labor Party
Electorate Office:...
xxx WA

Ph: xxx

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
CUNNINGHAM, Edward Joseph, MLA
Member for Girrawheen
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-second Parliament for Balga at the by-election on 19 March 1988 held to fill the vacancy consequent upon the resignation of Hon. Brian Thomas Burke. Electorate abolished in redistribution 1988. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament on 4 February 1989 for Marangaroo (new seat). Re-elected 1993. Electorate abolished in redistribution 1994. Elected to the Thirty-fifth Parliament on 14 December 1996 for Girrawheen (new seat). Did not contest general election 10 February 2001.

Standing Committees

Member Joint House Committee 19 March 1991 14 November 1996; Delegated Legislation 10 November 1993 - 17 November 1998; and Standing Committee on Uniform Legislation and Intergovernmental Agreements 18 March 1997 - 10 January 2001.

Select Committees/Royal Commissions

Member Select Committees on the Right to Farm 25 October 1989 - 14 November 1991; on Youth Affairs 31 October 1990 4 June 1992; and on Parole 25 May 1990 28 August 1991.

Parliamentary Party Appointments

President Parliamentary Labor Party 7 February 1994 15 January 1997. Opposition Whip in the Legislative Assembly from 15 January 1997 - 10 January 2001.



Born 26 November 1937, Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland. Arrived in Western Australia 1971.

Marital Status


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Parliament

Marketing manager and public servant.


Girrawheen is included in the North Metropolitan Region and includes the suburbs of Alexander Heights, Girrawheen, Hamersley and Koondoola, and parts of Balga, Mirrabooka and Warwick. Enrolment (14 December 1996) 23,038; area 20 sq km.